MannatechScience.com

Ingredient:

Kosher gelatin

Kosher gelatin. Gelatin is a protein derived from animal collagen, usually from cow or pig skin and bones. In order for a food to be classified as kosher, the ingredients, preparation and processing facilities must all meet kosher standards. Gelatin is a commonly used gelling agent in foods and can also be used to form hard or soft gelatin capsules for oral products 1. Gelatin is approved for use as a food additive by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 2.

This ingredient can be found in the following products in United States:

References

  1. Handbook of Pharmaceutical Excipients. Washington, DC: Pharmaceutical Press and American Pharmacists Assn, 2006.
  2. Food and Drug Administration. EAFUS: A Food Additive Database. http://www.foodsafety.gov/~dms/eafus.html. 10-17-2008. 12-4-2008.